Resetting the PC- will I loose my Wordfast TM?
Thread poster: Hilaryc78
Hilaryc78
Hilaryc78  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:21
German to Italian
+ ...
Feb 14, 2006

Hi there,

this is probably a silly question for you, but I am not too technical and before committing errors I would like to receive some tips.

I need to reset my Pc and I am starting saving as much possible before handing my computer to the technician.

Wordfast will be removed as well but I was just wondering if doing that I will loose my TM. If yes, how can I save it and where? Can I save it normally in one CD?

Any advise will be very app
... See more
Hi there,

this is probably a silly question for you, but I am not too technical and before committing errors I would like to receive some tips.

I need to reset my Pc and I am starting saving as much possible before handing my computer to the technician.

Wordfast will be removed as well but I was just wondering if doing that I will loose my TM. If yes, how can I save it and where? Can I save it normally in one CD?

Any advise will be very appreciate it.

Thanks a lot,

Ilaria
Collapse

Dan Marasescu
Dan Marasescu  Identity Verified
Romania
Member (2003)
English to Romanian
+ ...
TM files Feb 14, 2006

Hi Ilaria,

Wordfast TMs are saved as .txt files on your HDD. When you create them, you are asked to save them in a location of your choice, so you probably know where they are. Uninstalling WF does not erase the TM files, unless you format the entire partition.

In any case, it's a good idea to backup all your data before giving your computer to a technician. You can backup on CDs, DVDs, or simply to another HDD or computer. It's up to you.

Good luck!
... See more
Hi Ilaria,

Wordfast TMs are saved as .txt files on your HDD. When you create them, you are asked to save them in a location of your choice, so you probably know where they are. Uninstalling WF does not erase the TM files, unless you format the entire partition.