Sweden
Local time: 23:15
Member (2022)
English to Swedish
+ ...
Mar 7, 2023

Hi!

I am pretty new in the game of transcription and subtitling,
and not long ago I was sent an ABS file (Broadcast Script), based on my own, previous transcription work. The file was created as a standard word document, and I had to manually copy/paste time codes, dialogue + translation (as provided by the client), and we are talking about around 2000 words.
This took me a loooong time and needless to say, my wrists and energy levels were not happy!
And neither
... See more
Hi!

I am pretty new in the game of transcription and subtitling,
and not long ago I was sent an ABS file (Broadcast Script), based on my own, previous transcription work. The file was created as a standard word document, and I had to manually copy/paste time codes, dialogue + translation (as provided by the client), and we are talking about around 2000 words.
This took me a loooong time and needless to say, my wrists and energy levels were not happy!
And neither was my wallet. As we all know, the transcription field is underpaid. And mixed with the hard work I did it just does not feel worth it.

I keep thinking that there must be a smarter, faster, and less health-punishing way to finish these scripts.

What do you do? Do you use any programs?

And while I am at it, I would like to ask what transcription programs you use.
I would like to be able to use a transcription program that can help with automatic transcription in Swedish, but also one that, of course, protects the client's project.

Thank you
Collapse

Michel Virasolvy
Michel Virasolvy  Identity Verified
France
English to French
+ ...
Macros Mar 7, 2023