Volodymyr Kukharenko
Volodymyr Kukharenko
Ukraine
Local time: 09:38
English to Ukrainian
+ ...
Nov 23, 2011

Hi Everyone,

As a translation project manager I often need to compare bilingual documents and get a quick change report to:

- Provide to the customer the evidence that we did full TEP.
- Provide the list of corrections in cases whan we have to do profreading of 3rd party,
- Share editor's corrections with translators and improve their learning curve.
- Let the editor quickly review the list of own corrections to make sure that no mistake was made
... See more
Hi Everyone,

As a translation project manager I often need to compare bilingual documents and get a quick change report to:

- Provide to the customer the evidence that we did full TEP.
- Provide the list of corrections in cases whan we have to do profreading of 3rd party,
- Share editor's corrections with translators and improve their learning curve.
- Let the editor quickly review the list of own corrections to make sure that no mistake was made
- Compare different versions of bilingual documents to avoid version control issues.

Neither me, nor my colleagues found a suitable and convenient standalone software for this task, so we decided to develop our own. And today I'd like to share it with the community, to get feedbacks and idea of possible improvement.

You can download this free software on this website: http://change-tracker.com. It's freeware.

Basicly, it compares bilingual files and generates a report in .xls format, and then we use that report for variety of purposes. I am curious if such application may be of use to any of you.

Questions, discussions and comments are highly welcomed.

Kind regards,
Vladimir
Collapse

Natalie
Natalie  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 08:38
Member (2002)
English to Russian
+ ...

Moderator of this forum
SITE LOCALIZER
Hi Vladimir Nov 23, 2011

Thanks for sharing. Here are the first impressions.