Bertille Bacart
Bertille Bacart
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:48
English to French
+ ...
Jul 6, 2012

Good morning everyone,

I am a French freelance translator living in the UK. I just started a few weeks ago, and I have an important question and maybe you can help me with.

For the moment, my customers are French and based in France. They told me they don’t want to pay me by direct transfer to my UK account as it costs at least 10€ (which is a lot for a 50€ translation for example). So one of them sent me a euro cheque and I will put it on my French account.
... See more
Good morning everyone,

I am a French freelance translator living in the UK. I just started a few weeks ago, and I have an important question and maybe you can help me with.

For the moment, my customers are French and based in France. They told me they don’t want to pay me by direct transfer to my UK account as it costs at least 10€ (which is a lot for a 50€ translation for example). So one of them sent me a euro cheque and I will put it on my French account.

But I am not sure this is legal. I am registered in the UK, I will pay taxes in the UK, while the money will be on my French account.

Can someone help me with this? Or at least tell me if it’s legal?

Thank you for your help,
Bertille

[Edited at 2012-07-06 09:56 GMT]
Collapse

Peter Linton (X)
Peter Linton (X)  Identity Verified
Swedish to English
+ ...
Suggestions Jul 6, 2012

The official advice from HMRC is to persuade your customer to pay you in sterling and transfer that amounts to your UK bank account.

An alternative, and as far as I know legal procedure, is to open a Euro account at a British bank. That is what I have. Then your French customer can transfer money in euros, at low or zero cost thanks to EU law on transferring euros. If you pay tax in the UK, you must convert the euro amounts into sterling, and you can use an official HMRC exchange r
... See more