Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
does a free lance have to pay taxes as professional?
Thread poster: sademo (X)
sademo (X)
sademo (X)  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:05
English to Italian
+ ...
Mar 21, 2012

Hi all,

I am quite new to this domaine and I would like to know whether in Uk there is a kind of limit within you can earn as individual professional without paying any taxes.

Doeas any one know anything about that? It would be very helpful.

thanks in advance.

Sabrina.

Manuela Junghans
Manuela Junghans  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 05:05
Member (2004)
English to German
+ ...
Yes Mar 21, 2012

unfortunately freelance translators in the UK have to pay taxes.

I think you can earn about GBP 5.000-6.000 free of a tax per year. But on anything you earn more you have to pay taxes.

You will find all the relevant information on the HMRC website.

www.hmrc.gov.uk

Ty Kendall
Ty Kendall  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Hebrew to English
Thresholds Mar 21, 2012

The VAT threshold is astronomical (about £73,000) so it's highly unlikely that you will ever have to pay this.

The Income tax threshold is:

£7,454 for 2011-12
**£8,105 for 2012-13
http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/it.htm

So these are the amounts you can earn before you start paying income tax too.

Oh and then there's national insurance:
... See more
The VAT threshold is astronomical (about £73,000) so it's highly unlikely that you will ever have to pay this.

£7,454 for 2011-12
**£8,105 for 2012-13

Oh and then there's national insurance: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/rates/nic.htm

**It has appeared on the news today that this threshold is to be raised to £9,205 from next April:
http://citywire.co.uk/wealth-manager/budget-2012-income-tax-threshold-increased-to-9205/a576296

[Edited at 2012-03-21 16:36 GMT]
Collapse

sademo (X)
United Kingdom
English to Italian
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
thank you! Mar 21, 2012

Thank you very much to both of you.

I take the chance to raise another query!