Alessandra Vanni
Alessandra Vanni  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 19:09
English to Italian
+ ...
Feb 25, 2012

Dear Colleagues,

I am an Italian translator with 7 years of experience. I work mainly on a freelance basis but I recently opened my own translation agency in Italy where I currently live. As you probably know, in Italy taxes are incredibly high especially for freelance workers; therefore I am seriously thinking to relocate somewhere else in order to avoid paying so much money to receive nothing back in terms of public services. My favorite country is England -also because I have alr
... See more
Dear Colleagues,

I am an Italian translator with 7 years of experience. I work mainly on a freelance basis but I recently opened my own translation agency in Italy where I currently live. As you probably know, in Italy taxes are incredibly high especially for freelance workers; therefore I am seriously thinking to relocate somewhere else in order to avoid paying so much money to receive nothing back in terms of public services. My favorite country is England -also because I have already lived there for 3/4 years in the past- and from those of you who struggle everyday with the economic crisis, I would like to know the current situation. What kind of taxes do freelance workers have to pay and how it is structured the financial system?

I thank you very much for you precious help.

Ciao,
Ale
Collapse

Russell Jones
Russell Jones  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 18:09
Italian to English
First steps Feb 25, 2012

Hi Alessandra

As a first step, you might like to explore this site: http://www.hmrc.gov.uk/selfemployed/index.shtml

You should find details on working self-employed or as a limited company, income / corporation tax and VAT.

A search of previous threads in this forum, using relevant keywords, will also tell you about other people's experiences.

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Member (2008)
Italian to English