Is this a legit rate?
Thread poster: languagelunatic
languagelunatic
languagelunatic
Philippines
Dec 14, 2015

Hello. I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section but I didn't know where to put it and since it's about Chinese translation, I thought I could post it here.

I am a freelance Chinese-English translator from the Philippines. Although I have been translating for about a year, I am still having a hard time figuring out my rates. My current rate is .06 USD/word, but am considering raising my rate to .10 USD after reading other translation ads and posts. I have pretty good credentials as
... See more
Hello. I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section but I didn't know where to put it and since it's about Chinese translation, I thought I could post it here.

I am a freelance Chinese-English translator from the Philippines. Although I have been translating for about a year, I am still having a hard time figuring out my rates. My current rate is .06 USD/word, but am considering raising my rate to .10 USD after reading other translation ads and posts. I have pretty good credentials as I studied Chinese as a minor in college and studied in Beijing for two years but I'm wondering if I should only use the .10 USD rate if I was not only more experienced but also a licensed translator. Would it be best for me to keep my current rate?
Collapse

Preston Decker
Preston Decker  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:33
Chinese to English
Per character or per word? Dec 15, 2015

Did you mean to say .06 per Chinese character? Or are you really charging based upon the English words in the translation? .06 per Chinese character is (at least based on US living costs) either the high end of unacceptable or near the low end of acceptable, depending on your outlook, whereas .06 per translated word would be very low.

The good news is that regardless of the answer to this, you still have a lot of room to grow rate-wise. There are payers out there at .1 USD per char
... See more