Durham (UK) based native English translators - invitation to take part in cutting-edge research
Thread poster: Callum Walker
Callum Walker
Callum Walker  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 17:47
Russian to English
+ ...
Feb 4, 2016

Calling all DURHAM-based native English translators!!

In addition to my day job as a translator, I'm currently working towards a PhD in Translation Studies at UCL and am carrying out some fascinating empirical research in Durham into the way that translation can affect a reader's perception of a text.

My research uses cutting-edge eye-tracking technology to measure people's responses to a text as they read and this data will be used to draw some interesting conc
... See more
Calling all DURHAM-based native English translators!!

In addition to my day job as a translator, I'm currently working towards a PhD in Translation Studies at UCL and am carrying out some fascinating empirical research in Durham into the way that translation can affect a reader's perception of a text.

My research uses cutting-edge eye-tracking technology to measure people's responses to a text as they read and this data will be used to draw some interesting conclusions about the effects of translation on reader perception. The eye-tracker is totally non-invasive (it uses infra-red cameras, so nothing is attached to your head or anything else like that!).

The research is taking place at Durham University (city centre) and will take up no more than 30 minutes of your time.

I'm holding two all-day sessions on Thursday 18th February and Wednesday 24th February. If you think you might have time to spare to help with my research then please get in touch with me either via ProZ or directly via email to [email protected] or [email protected].

There are only three criteria for research participants:
- that your native language is English (any type - UK, US, etc.)